2016 TLL Car Show: Poster Process

Here’s a look into the process of this year’s annual The Little Longhorn Car Show poster. It was a fun one, and I tried a few new things this year with layout and illustration technique.

First I figured out what the layout would be. I settled on a definite right-to-left, with a dramatic angle (which I toned down to have room for all of the text).

2016_sketch.jpg

So initially I tried one angle from another preliminary sketch, but discarded it. It didn’t let me do what I wanted with the background and the perspective of the bar building.

process_firstPass.jpg

I then tried a new angle… and stuck with it this time.

process_secondPass.jpg

The car base is vector, but then I pulled the individual assets into Photoshop. I painted shading on to the car, and then the clouds with my tablet…

sky_300h.jpg

The ground motion lines were also painted in Photoshop, using perspective guides to help with getting the look and angles right.

groundlines.jpg

The file ended up being a few different pieces (car, foreground motion lines, building, skyline, cloud, flat background colors), and then I took them all and squished them together in Photoshop.

2016_close-up_460h.jpg

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out! You can check out the final full poster on my portfolio website.

Leave a Reply

