Miyazaki Month at Alamo Drafthouse

551836792_800

I’ve seen many Miyazaki films thanks to some friends when I was younger, but I jumped at the chance to see many of these films in theaters when Alamo Drafthouse announced that February is going to be Miyazaki month! I’ll be seeing (again) Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, and Princess Mononoke. New viewings for me will be My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind, and The Kingdom of Dreams and Madness (a documentary about the studio and Miyazaki).

Alamo keeps adding movies and screen times, so maybe there will be more as the month goes on! These are all wonderful movies, and I highly recommend people go see them.

Also, check out the trailer for February; really good use of music and cutting together great parts of many of Studio Ghibli films. Loved seeing it every time in theaters.

Leave a Reply

