CreateAthon 2014

I participated in CreateAthon for the first time this year. It’s a 24-hour design event for non-profit companies to get some professional design done for free!

I got there after work and quickly joined the smallest group, which was Colin’s Hope. Colin’s Hope is a non-profit organization that raises safety awarness for children around water (pools, beaches, bathrooms). It’s origins stem from a very sad story.

Illustrator was being a jerk (I think it was because I was on a trial version on an unfamiliar computer [resetting preferences wasn’t working!]), so making the icons was more of a fight than usual, but I got ’em done!

CH_6+3icons_Final2

CH_6+3icons_Final

I created those icons for the website and print collateral (surprisingly no one else in the group was big into illustration or Illustrator). We narrowed some of their copy down and made it more clear, and these icons were to correspond with mostly that copy. I also got to help with typesetting on the print, and some of the web design itself (although most of that was handled by the dedicated UI/UX designer in the group).

colins-hope-interior_3LAYERS

The host company Build-A-Sign seems like a cool place to work. It’s large open office in north Austin, and all of the employees that stayed the night were super friendly.

Some of my team members ended up taking naps, but I decided not to sleep at all (I remembered from college that it only makes me feel worse the next day). Went to work the next day, got a lot of work knocked out, and then went home and crashed until 2 PM the next afternoon (thankfully a Saturday).

I’ll be participating next year! Maybe next year I’ll remember to take the next day off of work, hah.

Leave a Reply

