AIGA: Dana Tanamachi Talk

Nice enough to take a picture with me! Disregard my glowing blue face.

Nice enough to take a picture with me! Disregard my glowing blue face.

I’ve been following Dana Tanamachi for some time (especially since I joined Dribbble). When I heard she was coming to Austin to give a talk, I was sure to get a ticket to the AIGA event.

IMG_1663

She gave a great talk, explaining her earlier career doing posters for Broadway shows at SpotCo, and working under Louise Fili, and then moving on to explaining what she does (custom chalk lettering for storefronts and similar), how she does it (with a piece of chalk, a wet rag, and her iPod), and where (Oprah, Tommy Hilfiger, and Google, to name a few of her bigger clients). She also answered questions at the end. I remember someone asked if she uses “special chalk.” (No. The answer was no.)

Scripts-Book1-e1304474637301

She recommended Scripts: Elegant Lettering From Design’s Golden Age if anyone was interested in a good inspiration book of retro custom-created scripts (she also apparently knows the creators). I went ahead and bought it off Amazon then and there on my phone since I had been debating whether to buy it or not for some time. I had forgotten that the cover was illustrated by Jessica Hische!

P.S. The event was catered by Chilantro… AIGA sure knows how to spoil their designers.

Leave a Reply

